Posted in Fiction, My Bibliothèque, Mythology, Women's Fiction

{ Book Review } – The Rise of Sivagami by Anand Neelakantan !

The Rise of Sivagami (Baahubali: Before the Beginning, Book 1)The Rise of Sivagami by Anand Neelakantan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Have you come across books which are pure temptation? I mean, I knew that the book I was then reading, A Man called Ove, was a much better book in all respect, but somehow, was rendered helpless against the lure of this one. 😬 I am a Bahubali fan, not a supremely crazy one, but a fan nonetheless. So, I bought this after a brief wait. The miser than I am, I usual don’t buy new releases, but then it was Bahubali. I started the book with the misconception that it would start at the birth of Sivagami, and merge with the story at the beginning of the movie. A little later I learnt that is a part of trilogy that maps the kingdom of Mahishmathi, as a extension of the Bahubali universe. The story begins with a young Sivagami and you suddenly notice all the streaks of the character in the movie. ( Although I admit, I just kept seeing an image of Ramya, younger, I don’t think I can separate that from the character, just yet ). From a childhood where she witnesses her father being awarded a death sentence for treason, to a teenaged orphan, the transition is subtle and natural. However, she is not the fundamental character of the book.

Just like the movie, there are lots of characters and backstories, but that’s where my trouble starts. I kept telling myself that it happens when it is one part of a trilogy, but couldn’t suppress a feeling, that the characters were added at the expense of depth of each of them. Before you start really understanding one of them, the story moves to another. A flicker of an interesting point of view for one of them and the spotlight moves to another in the same instance!!! It got a bit annoying, to be honest. Thankfully, the story development is good, it’s not a cheesy, straight line of progression from the orphan Sivagami to the ferocious Rajamata from the movie. I will definitely pick up another part of this trilogy before making up my mind against it. But, there is no need to hurry and grab this one, spending the night under a blanket with a torch and get dark circles! Definitely not at the expense of a better book!

2.5 out of 5.

View all my reviews here on Goodreads

Your $0.02 gladly accepted here, but kindly don't be rude:

