Posted in Breakfast, Recipes

Thakkali Dosai / Tomato Dosai and one amazing cookbook I am currently loving!

I enjoy cooking and while my first, and also probably the most utilised source of recipes is food blogs, there are certain cookbooks and authors whom I trust now. And when it comes to south Indian cooking, a name that I will take without skipping a breadth is Chandra Padmanabhan’s! ❤ And while I am sure all her books are equally good, the one that I have thumbed through the most (not literally, since I own the ebook but definitely referred to a lot) is her book Dosai. While the book deserves a post of its own, for now, I will restrict to raving about this Thakkali Dosai / Tomato Dosa I tried this morning.

The idea is simple but the result is amazing. You need a little prep because you need some Dosa batter ( recipe here ) on hand. Once you have that, it is a simple story! ❤ I have picked this recipe a couple of times and not executed it because I wasn’t so sure of my dosa batter spreading / handling. But the addition of coconut makes sure the batter doesn’t become too watery.  This version uses raw tomatoes so yay ( because no blanching and peeling) !! There is another version that uses blanched tomatoes too, I will update my results when I try that! I don’t think it will be too long before I try it too! 😀

 

Crisp Thakkali Dosai / Tomato Dosai ( from Chandra Padmanabhan's cookbook Dosai ) with Molagapodi and Filter Coffee for Breakfast ~ Breakfast 97 of #100happybreakfasts ! I have learnt to place a Bhagwad Gita like faith in the cookbook after trying about a dozen ( maybe more ) recipes and though the variations are no rocket science, they are refreshing. This tomato flavoured Dosai is a variation of regular Dosai with a paste of coconut and tomatoes added to the regular Dosa Batter. You could use both blanched and peeled tomatoes and raw tomatoes but I prefer the raw one because it retains the fibre. A hint of asafoetida, some cumin seeds and torn curry leaves along with coconut and puréed tomato bring an Adai like flavor into the dosa. Edit: The recipe is now up on the blog, link in bio. ❤️ #dosai #chandrapadmanabhan #dosaicookbook #dosa #thakkali #tomatodosa #desibreakfast #dosalove #southindianbreakfast #srujans100happybreakfasts

A post shared by Srujan Desai (@d.srujan) on

Recipe ( adapted from Chandra Padmanabhan’s cookbook Dosai available here, makes about 6-8 Dosais )

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cups of Dosa Batter, recipe available here, ( make sure it is not extremely sour ),
  • 2/3rd cup of chopped tomatoes, or 2 medium tomatoes, roughly chopped,
  • 4 tbsp of freshly grated coconut,
  • 1-2 green chillies, OR 1/2 tsp of red chilli powder ( adjust as per your preference ),
  • salt to taste,
  • a pinch of asafoetida, (optional),
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin seeds,
  • a few curry leaves, torn by hand into smaller pieces
  • oil or ghee, for shallow frying/roasting

Method:

  1. Make a smooth paste of tomatoes, coconut, chillies, salt and asafoetida without adding any water.
  2. Mix it into the batter along with cumin seeds and curry leaves.
  3. Heat and season a skillet / flat tawa / dosa tawa, and apply a little oil. Spread it evenly with a wet cloth or kitchen towel. You can also use a halved potato or onion for the same purpose.
  4. Pour about 1/2 of a cup of batter in the centre of the tawa and spread it thin using a flat bottom bowl or spoon with concentric movement of your hand.
  5. Let it cook on a medium flame for a while, then apply some oil on the edges of the dosa and in the centre. Once the dosa appears almost cooked, turn the flame high for about 30 seconds, then flip and cook for another 3o seconds on the other side.
  6. Remove using a spatula. Repeat with the remaining batter.
  7. Serve hot with chutney of your choice. I served it with coconut chutney and Curry Leaf Podi.
3 thoughts on “Thakkali Dosai / Tomato Dosai and one amazing cookbook I am currently loving!

  1. Thank God, I can finally see your posts!!.Good work and don’t take a long break now. I always look forward to your recipes and posts only because there is a homely touch to your cooking, although taste testing is still to be done 😉 Would love to meet you some day!!

    Like

    1. I am so glad you liked it! And it is super simple too! I wasn’t very sure about this too but it is nice change to the regular Dosa! 😊😊

      Like

Your $0.02 gladly accepted here, but kindly don't be rude:

