Posted in Indian Curries, Recipes

Rajma Saagwala and My obsession with cookbooks!

I have always loved perusing cookbooks and after acquiring a lot of them recently, I have been leafing through them on a regular basis. Not daily basis but definitely during my weekly meal planning hour. And it has been very useful if I were to be honest. I definitely have more ideas than usual but more than that, I have been cooking a wider variety of vegetables and legumes and that too on a regular basis!  ❤  And one such find has been this Rajma Saagwala, a dry stir fry kind of preparation, using a leafy green vegetable and kidney beans. And while I love kidney beans, the love is reflected here , I often make the regular Rajma Chawal – onion and tomato based gravy version served with steamed rice, but that’s pretty much how I make Rajma. So, to change that, I decided to make with Spinach.

Without much babbling, I get down to recipe! 🙂

Recipe ( Serves 2, adapted from Tarla Dalal’s cookbook Swadisht Sabziyan, and the original recipe can be viewed here too)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3rd cup of Rajma ( Kidney Beans ), soaked for at least 6 hours, drained and then pressure cooked, yielding about 2/3rd cup of cooked Rajma,
  • 2 to 2 and 1/2 cups of Spinach, cleaned, trimmed and chopped, (the original recipe uses Chawli Bhaji ( Amaranth Greens ) , but suggested that they could be substituted with greens of choice so I have used Spinach ),
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin seeds,
  • 1 green chilli, finely chopped,
  • 1/2 inch piece of ginger, finely chopped or grated OR you could use 1 tsp of ginger green chilli paste,
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped,
  • 3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped,
  • salt to taste,
  • 1/4th tsp of turmeric powder,
  • 3 tbsp of mustard oil, ( or use any oil of your choice )
  • 1/4th tsp of sugar, (optional),
  • a little milk, roughly 3-4 tbsp,
  • 3 tbsp of cream ( optional , I skipped it )

Method:

  1. Heat the oil, add the cumin seeds and let them splutter. Then add the garlic, ginger and chilli and saute until the raw smell goes away.
  2. Add the finely chopped onions and cooked until translucent but not browned.
  3. Add the chopped Spinach, salt and sugar, if using.
  4. Once the Spinach has wilted nicely, add the turmeric powder and the Rajma.  Mix well, add the milk and cook for an another minute or two.
  5. Finally, add the cream if using, turn the heat off and serve hot accompanied by Fulkas or Paranthas. Done!  ❤
3 thoughts on “Rajma Saagwala and My obsession with cookbooks!

  1. Hi Srujan
    You have some very exciting recipes here… Eager to explore the food & the stories attached. Thanks for the follow:)
    The rajma looks delicious & it’s perfect for the spinach lover ( like me!). I will definitely be trying it although I think I’ll skip the cream too:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Divya! Super glad to know you here in the blogging universe as well as Instagram! 😊 Thank you so much for the kind and encouraging words. You have such a beautiful blog about crafts yourself. I am eager to check the food section there! But totally loved your space! Looking forward to your posts in the days to come!
      P.S I am glad you liked the Rajma! 😀 I think a tbsp or two of cream won’t hurt, but fats and sugar are such a slippery slope for me that I am too scared to give up the self control even for a moment! 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much Srujan…you’re very kind!
        I’m in love with the deliciousness you have on your instagram page!!:)
        I understand the situation with sugar & fats… we sail the same boat!:)

        Like

Your $0.02 gladly accepted here, but kindly don't be rude:

