Posted in Recipes, Salads

Roasted Beetroot and Chickpeas Salad!

Do you hate beetroot? I totally get it, I used to hate them too. I have no clue why. The strange thing is, even as a kid, somewhere in the subconscious region of my brain, I knew that beetroots are good for me, but I was always wary. People who loved beets were a source of admiration for me, no kidding! I am not being sarcastic, I, and of course my mom, we tried out best, to get me to like beetroot, but it was probably not destined to be so.  Then, recently, on my trip to Coorg, I tasted this amazing Beetroot and Peanut Salad and it was so so good! I genuinely liked it and the experience sort of emboldened me to try beetroot in other ways. So, when I stumbled up this recipe here by Guy Fieri on Food Network, I knew it was the universe giving me a signal! ❤ Ok, I am done being melodramatic. Over to the recipe!

Pan roasted Beetroot and Chickpea salad with a Balsamic-Honey Vinaigrette for dressing – Salad 25 of #100happysalads ! Recipe inspiration: @guyfieri 's Roasted Beet with Chickpeas and Red Onion on the @foodnetwork ! I have taken a few liberties like not adding the cheese, I did not have any on hand and replaced the dressing with a balsamic vinaigrette! It was yum, if I say so myself! 😆 Raise your hand with me if you are not a fan of raw beetroot (if you are, don't tell me, I am already super embarrassed to admit this 😝 ). So to up the game a bit, I roasted beetroot chunks in a pan with a tbsp of oil, some garlic and rosemary. Once done, roasted but not softened, just slightly caramelised in flavor, I turned the heat off and added a tbsp of balsamic vinegar to the pan. The chickpeas were boiled separately with salt. And the dressing is super simple, whisk 1 tbsp of honey, 1 tbsp of olive oil, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, a little lemon juice, salt, pepper and cumin together. Add a little cilantro/coriander/parsley and pour over just before eating. A few more tricks with beet and I can officially remove it from the hated list! 😁😍 #saladnight #saladfordinner #beetroot #balsamicvinaigrette #chickpeas #roastedbeetrootsalad #foodnetwork #srujans100happysalads

A post shared by Srujan Desai (@d.srujan) on

Recipe: (Serves 2, as a meal, or 4 if you serve it as a side or an accompaniment )

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup, cooked chickpeas, (1/2 cup of dried chickpeas, soaked for 8 hours and pressured cooked until fully cooked but not mushy, OR use 1 cup,drained and rinsed, if you are using canned),
  • 4 medium beetroots, trimmed and cut into bite-sized chunks, (leave the peel on if you can clean them thoroughly, otherwise peel them too),
  • a few stalks of fresh rosemary, OR 1 tsp of dried rosemary,
  • 1 large red onion, halved and thinly sliced,
  • 2 medium tomatoes, chopped into chunks,
  • 1 tbsp + 3 tbsp of olive oil,
  • 1tbsp + 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar (recommended), OR (juice of 1 large lemon),
  • 1 tsp + 1 tbsp of honey,
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, chopped, (optional, skip if you don’t like the flavor),
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin powder,
  • salt to taste,
  • pepper, a few pinches
  • a handful of coriander leaves/parsley, finely chopped,

Method: 

  1. In a mixing bowl, take the beetroot chunks. Drizzle with 1 tbsp of oil, add a few pinches of salt and black pepper each, chopped garlic and rosemary. Mix well until they are coated evenly with the spices and oil.
  2. You could roast these in an oven, spread in an oven proof tray in a single layer and roast at 180C for about 30 mins or until partly cooked. Or, you could also pan roasted them in a skillet, over an even heat, not high or simmer, a constant medium heat for about 12-15 mins or until cooked to slightly crisp on the outside and a little soft on the inside.
  3. Take it off the heat, add 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp of honey and toss them till the beets are coated evenly. Let it cool down to room temperature.
  4. Whisk the remaining oil, balsamic vinegar, honey, cumin powder, some chopped coriander, salt, and pepper together in another small bowl and set aside.
  5. Arrange everything in the serving bowl and serve wit the dressing on the side as shown in the picture above, garnished with coriander or parsley.
  6. You could also mix the vegetables and the dressing in a mixing bowl and refrigerate it for about an hour before serving. Either way, the salad will taste great.
Your $0.02 gladly accepted here, but kindly don't be rude:

