Posted in Breakfast, Recipes

Cucumber Chana Dal Idlis

Heya!! So, I am back after a hiatus ( read a recreational trip  + a trip home for social reasons ) and like a good girl I am trying to get things off my to-do list. And these Cucumber Chana Daal Idlis were on my list ever since the blog post was up on Saffron Trail. But, since I am good at procrastination, I somehow never got to making them. So, here I am, with my trial of these beauties.

Pillowy Cucumber Chana Daal Idlis ( recipe courtesy @saffrontrail ) , Molagapodi and Filter Kaapi for Breakfast ~ Breakfast 67 of #100happybreakfasts ! I had bookmarked the recipe for trial ever since it had been up on the blog, but finally got down to making it today. The only liberties that I have taken with the recipe are using whole Idli rice and Urad Daal in place of the flours and omission of carrot, since I did not have it on hand. The recipe is perfect, I need not make any changes to it. Thanks a bunch, @saffrontrail ! ☺☺ The recipe is completely #vegan friendly and, like Nandita suggests in her blog post, perfect for summers! I have packed some in my better half's lunch box, so I will post and update here in some time regarding its softness on cooling down. #idlis #molagapodi #cucumberidli #veganfriendly #breakfasttime #whatsforbreakfast #whatsonmyplate #myblr #myblrbrkfst #bangalorediaries #lentils #rice #vegetarian #meatfree #southindianbreakfast #filtercoffee #kaapi #southindianfiltercoffee #srujans100happybreakfasts #theurbanspice #thekitchn #wheatfree #cucumber #chanadaal #lensplated #lowfat #healthybreakfastclub

A post shared by Srujan Desai (@d.srujan) on

So, I have somehow managed to get my kitchen and pantry after a solid 4+ weeks break with this beauty of a thing called online grocery shopping. Since I was planning to be away for quite some time, I had cleared my pantry of a lot of essentials. Now, I am not really a big fan of shopping produce only, but days like these, when you really don’t want to run errands, I felt online grocery shopping to be a savior. Have you tried a hand at online grocery shopping? Let me know of any good tips and tricks that you know off! 🙂

About the recipe, I have followed the recipe on Saffron Trail almost as it is, with a small change that I did not use Rice and Urad Daal flours as mentioned in the source here. The recipe is perfect ( all credit to Nandita, thanks a bunch! ). I have used some approximations in measures since dry flour and wet batter will measure differently. I usually make my own Idli Batter, the recipe to which can be accessed here. Also, I forgot to buy carrots, which would have been a lovely addition. But I skipped it. So, here is how I made it.

Recipe: ( credits: Saffron Trail blog )
makes 12 medium idlis

Ingredients:

  • 1 + 1/4th cup of regular Idli batter, recipe here
  • 1/4th cup of Chana Daal / Bengal Gram ( ચણાની દાળ / चना दाल ), rinsed and soaked for 8 hours
  • 1 ( preferably seedless ) cucumber, grated (leave the skin on),
  • 1 tbsp green chili ginger paste,
  • 1/4th tsp of turmeric powder,
  • 2 tsp of cooking oil,
  • Salt to taste,
  • 1 tsp Eno fruit salt
  • few tbsp of warm water

Method:

  1. Grind the Idli batter the previous night as per the recipe and leave aside for fermentation overnight.
  2. In the morning, grind the Chana Daal with the ginger chilli paste, into a not so fine paste, ( coarse but no bits of lentils are visible ) adding a little water.
  3. Trim and grate the cucumber with skin on.
  4. Mix the ground chana daal, oil, turmeric, grated cucumber with the idli batter, and add salt to taste. Mix well.
  5. Grease the idli moulds and prepare the steamer. Just before you are ready to steam, add the fruit salt with a couple of tbsp of warm water and mix well.
  6. Immediately pour the frothy batter into the moulds and steam for about 10-12 minutes. DO NOT let the batter stand for a long time after you mix in the fruit salt.
  7. Let the Idli moulds cool for a few minutes before unmolding.
  8. Serve with coconut chutney or Molagapodi or the condiment of your choice.
Your $0.02 gladly accepted here, but kindly don't be rude:

