Posted in Dips, Raitas and Sides, Recipes

Turkish Beetroot Dip

While I was browsing through Rick Stein’s “From Turkey to Istanbul” for a vegetarian accompaniment for the Turkish Spiced Pilaf I posted earlier, I stumbled upon this Beetroot Dip. One look at it and I found myself ticking across all my needed checkboxes. Yogurt based (Its an Indian thing I guess to have a yogurt based side with rice) ~ check. Mildly spiced (since my pilaf had a fair share of spice ) ~ check. Something I had not tried before

  • Yogurt based (Its an Indian thing I guess to have a yogurt based side with rice) ~ check.
  • Mildly spiced (since my pilaf had a fair share of spice ) ~ check.
  • Something I had not tried before ~ check.
  • Had beetroot ( I am not was not very fond of beet ) ~ check check check!!

So, in my humble opinion, this dip was a perfect accompaniment to my pilaf. Of course, you can also serve it as a side with any spicy mains, including Indian ones, because this resembles the Indian Raita a lot. The minor difference being, the raita derives its mild pungency through mustard while this dip gets the same through the dill leaves.

Recipe:

Serves 3-4

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium beetroot, peeled and grated, ( you may parboil/steam it, but I choose to leave it raw and grate it fine to preserve maximum nutrients),
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced/grated
  • 1/2 to 1 cup of thick curd / yogurt (unsweetened), if the curd is too thin, strain it or hang for an hour or two,
  • 2 tbsp of dill leaves, finely chopped,
  • 2 tbsp of mint, finely chopped, + a few sprigs for garnish,
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil,
  • salt to taste,
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste

Method:

  1. In a bowl, take the curd/yogurt, garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper and whisk it to a smooth consistency.
  2. Add the grated beet, dill and mint leaves and mix well.
  3. Serve with warm Pitas or chips in the mezze or as a side with any of the spicy mains.

Notes:

  • Just like the pilaf, use dill leaves with caution.
  • If you are serving it later, do not add salt ahead of time. Mix everything else and let the flavors develop. Season only before you are ready to serve.
One thought on “Turkish Beetroot Dip

Your $0.02 gladly accepted here, but kindly don't be rude:

