Posted in Breakfast, Recipes, Snacks

Banarasi Choora Matar ~ a Breakfast fit for the Kings!

I am not a morning person. But, I am a hardcore breakfast person ( well, I am a foodie, and hence for me, what’s better than a brilliant start to the day! 😉 ) So, I have this weird notion of trying out 100, possible healthy, breakfasts from all the regions of India. And in one of my searches I came across this beautiful dish called Choora Matar.

Banarasi Choora Matar with Badam Milk for breakfast ~ breakfast 39 of #100happybreakfasts ! Choora Matar / Chooda matar is a rich, fragrant breakfast, mostly unknown to non natives, sold on the streets of Banaras and is usually a winter breakfast speciality, in the Northern Parts of India. Its is usually quite rich and heavy. I have omitted the cream here though to keep it lighter. The recipe is from a blog called Banaras Ka Khana. I am copying down the recipe from there with small minor adjustments that I made: Serves 2 ingredients 1 cup , thick variety of pohe/beaten rice  3/4th cup fresh peas, I have used frozen but the best would be freshly shelled peas,  1 tsp cumin seeds, 1/2 inch piece of ginger, finely grated  2 green chillies finely chopped 2 tbsp freshly chopped coriander  juice of 1/2 a lemon, adjust as per your taste  1/2 tsp sugar 1/2 tsp black pepper powder  1 tsp garam masala powder, I prefer milder flavour so I have used 3/4 tsp of kitchen king masala  salt to taste 4 – 5 tbsp milk, you may use more, but I did not have confidence with my poha. So out of fear of it getting mushy, I used less cream 1/4 cup[optional], I did not use ghee 2 tbsp Method:  Rinse the poha through a strainer, drain well and soak in milk and cream for 10 minutes [less if it is finer]. Heat ghee in a pan and add cumin into it, add in the ginger and green chilies when the jeera crackles,after a few seconds add in the powder masalas. Stir and immediately add in the peas with sugar and salt, stir, add few tbsp of water, just enough to cover the peas and cook covered on medium heat until the peas are done. Open the pan, check if the peas are almost cooked but still firm, and add in the soaked poha and mix well, fluffing it up. Turn off the flame, add lemon juice chopped coriander leaves and mix very lightly. Garnish with fried cashews and raisins. #matar #poha #banarasi #breakfast #peas #beatenrice #traditionalindianbreakfast #regionalfood #winterspecial #streetfoodofindia #streetsofindia #vscofood #vscocam #igers #whatsforbreakfast #whatsonmyplate #lensplated #chooramatar #choodamatar #vegetarian #meatfree #glutenfree #srujans100happybreakfasts

A post shared by Srujan Desai (@d.srujan) on

Choora Matar is a rich, fragrant dish made of spiced and seasoned beaten rice (Poha) and fresh green peas dotted with fried cashews and raisins. It is quite indulgent and heavy and hence served on the streets of Northern India, particularly Banaras/Varanasi on cold, winter mornings. This, is by no means, an authentic version. This is my humble take on the same. Your version may be frying the beaten rice to a crisp texture before using. The version I saw on a blog, soaked the beaten rice in cream and milk before cooking, hence it is smoother in texture and not crisp.

The recipe is from a blog called Banaras Ka Khana.

I am copying down the recipe from there with small minor adjustments that I made. Serves 2.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup , thick variety of pohe/beaten rice
  • 3/4th cup fresh peas, I have used frozen but the best would be freshly shelled peas,
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds,
  • 1/2 inch piece of ginger, finely grated
  • 2 green chillies finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp freshly chopped coriander
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon, adjust as per your taste
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper powder
  • 1 tsp garam masala powder, I prefer milder flavour so I have used 3/4 tsp of kitchen king masala
  • salt to taste
  • 4 – 5 tbsp milk, you may use more, but I did not have confidence with my poha. So out of fear of it getting mushy, I used less milk 1/4 cup[optional], I did not use cream
  • ghee 2 tbsp

Method:

  1. Rinse the poha through a strainer, drain well and soak in milk and cream for 10 minutes [less if it is finer].
  2. Heat ghee in a pan and add cumin into it, add in the ginger and green chilies when the jeera crackles,after a few seconds add in the powder masalas.
  3. Stir and immediately add in the peas with sugar and salt, stir, add few tbsp of water, just enough to cover the peas and cook covered on medium heat until the peas are done.
  4. Open the pan, check if the peas are almost cooked but still firm, and add in the soaked poha and mix well, fluffing it up.
  5. Turn off the flame. Add the lemon juice and chopped coriander and gently mix them without turning into a mush. Serve Hot!
Your $0.02 gladly accepted here, but kindly don't be rude:

