Posted in Beverages, Recipes

Chukku Kaapi ~ Filter Coffee spiked with ginger, pepper and other Indian spices!

Ever since I moved to Bengaluru, about 3 years ago, I am in love with filter coffee. It is so much more flavorful that the milky sugar version of instant coffee I grew up on. And I don’t believe how I haven’t done a post yet on filter coffee. So, when I was a feeling a bit under the weather, I tried this variant of South Indian Filter coffee called Chukku Kaapi.

Don't know whats wrong with the Bengaluru weather since past couple of days! So, for that feeling-under-the weather kind of day, try Chukku Kaapi ~ Ginger spiked Filter Coffee! The Caffeine gives a much needed energy boost while the ginger soothes the throat! Traditionally, the coffee grounds and the spices are brewed together. However, that poses 2 problems for me. One is, I don't like the fine powdery dregs of coffee grounds in my cups and sometimes despite best of the filtering efforts, they remain the drink. Two, I am not very comfortable with the idea of brewing coffee for too long. I like my coffee strong, but not unpalatable and bitter. So, I have brewed my coffee separately in a steel coffee filter and brewed the spice mixture in water separately. That way I can mix as much coffee decoction and the brew of spices as per my wish and control the strength. Ingredients: 1/2 a cup water, 1 tsp dry ginger powder, 1/8 th of a tsp pepper, 10-12 indian basil / tulsi leaves, 1 tbsp of honey or palm jaggery, adjust as per your preference 1/4th cup filter coffee decoction Method: Bring the water to a boil in a small sauce pan. Add the ginger powder, pepper powder and basil leaves. Brew for about 3-4 minutes and then strain. In a cup, add about 1/4th of the cup some filter coffee decoction and top with the brew made above. You may adjust the proportions of the brew as per your choice. I prefer one part coffee to 3 parts brew. You may use equal part of both or more of the coffee and lesser brew too. Add honey or palm jaggery and stir till it dissolves. Enjoy hot. #chukku #kaapi #spiked #coffee #sickday #dryginger #pepper #tulsi #herbalcoffee

A post shared by Srujan Desai (@d.srujan) on

The etymology of this drink goes like this I suppose. Chukku stands for dry ginger in Malayalam, also known as sukku in Tamil, सौंठ or Sounth in Hindi and સૂંઠ or Sunth in Gujarati. So, basically Chukku Kappi is coffee spiked with ginger.

From a bit on internet research (read stalking), I have found out that a lot of other spices go into this brew. I have skipped a few which I did not have in my pantry. You can go ahead and add them. I also substituted palm jaggery with honey. I have slightly modified the brewing method to suit my preferences. Traditionally, the coffee grounds and the spices are brewed together. However, that poses 2 problems for me. One is, I don’t like the fine powdery dregs of coffee grounds in my cups and sometimes despite best of the filtering efforts, they remain the drink. Two, I am not very comfortable with the idea of brewing coffee for too long. I like my coffee strong, but not unpalatable and bitter. So, I have brewed my coffee separately in a steel coffee filter and brewed the spice mixture in water separately. That way I can mix as much coffee decoction and the brew of spices as per my wish and control the strength.

Without further ado, here is the recipe.

Ingredients:

1/2 a cup water,
1 tsp dry ginger powder,
1/8 th of a tsp pepper,
10-12 basil leaves,
1 tbsp of honey or palm jaggery, adjust as per your preference
1/4th cup filter coffee decoction

Method:

  1. Bring the water to a boil in a small sauce pan.
  2. Add the ginger powder, pepper powder and basil leaves.
  3. Brew for about 3-4 minutes and then strain.
  4. In a cup, add about 1/4th of the cup some filter coffee decoction and top with the brew made above. You may adjust the proportions of the brew as per your choice. I prefer one part coffee to 3 parts brew. You may use equal part of both or more of the coffee and lesser brew too.
  5. Add honey or palm jaggery and stir till it dissolves.
  6. Enjoy hot.
Your $0.02 gladly accepted here, but kindly don't be rude:

