Posted in Breakfast, Recipes

Upma/Uppitu ~ Of newly acquired tastes!

I haven’t been the good kid when it comes to being non-fussy about food most of my life. Well as I grew, I gave my mom a hell of less trouble, but I cannot claim to one of the ‘good kids’. Thankfully, my dad was equally fussy and therefore thankfully, a lot of vegetables and stuff was never cooked at my mom’s place. But, now I slightly regret it. Had I been exposed to a lot of variety back then, I would not doing these experiments in my kitchen with a trembling heart, not knowing what will come out good and what won’t. And well Upma was one such thing which I ‘HATED’ to say the least. Well, I hate is a pretty passionate emotion I know, however I am not exaggerating this statement at all. To make my point, I will admit that even as a kid, I judged the weddings which served Upma for morning snack instead of the usual Gujju staples of either Khaman or Poha. So, I think this would probably make my point clear.

Before I move on with my story, here is a brief introduction to Upma for the uninitiated. Upma or Uppuma or Uppitu, the names with which it know in different regions of India, is a thick porridge of sorts, almost solid in texture, made from roasted semolina or cream of wheat and spiced with green chillies, ginger, pepper along with a tempering of mustard seeds, curry leaves and split and skinned black gram. Often, some chopped vegetables are added to this but that is purely optional.

Well, continuing my story, then I got married. I started cooking for my husband and my new family. Then, one fine day, I tried making Upma. And then, I had some from the Upma I made for them. I liked it. No, nothing, ‘blew-my-mind’ sorts of stuff. Thats it. Sorry folks, I don’t have a happily ever after ending for this story. Its quite healthy, gluten free and a reasonably high glycemic index. Probably, thats how much I am ever going to mellow down to having Upma for breakfast I guess.

So, without a further rant, I will pen down the recipe below.

P.S I am wondering who correct is pen down in this electron:)ic age. Any suggestions about what should the words be rephrased to?

As always, the recipe is adapted from Tarla Dalal’s recipe, which can be found here.

Ingredients:
1 cup semolina (rava  or cream of wheat)
1 1/2 tbsp oil
1/2 tsp mustard seeds ( rai / sarson)
1 tsp urad dal (split black lentils)
4 curry leaves (kadi patta)
2 green chillies, finely chopped
1/2 cup vegetables of your choice, finely chopped,
salt to taste
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp sugar

Method: Heat the semolina in a kadhai and dry roast on a mdium flame for 4 to 5 minutes, while stirring occasionally. Roast it till it becomes golden brown and the rava is fragrant. Keep aside.
Heat the oil in a kadhai and add the mustard seeds.
When the seeds crackle, add the urad dal, curry leaves and green chillies and sauté on a medium flame for a few seconds.
Add the vegetables and sauté on a medium flame for 1 to 2 minutes.
Add the 3 cups of water and bring it to a boil. You can use hot water too. Add salt and mix well and cover with a lid and cook on a slow flame for 3 to 4 minutes, while stirring occasionally.The semolina will absorb all the water and swell.
Add the lemon juice and sugar, mix well and cook on a medium flame for another 1 minute, while stirring continuously.
Take off the flame and serve hot! 

One thought on “Upma/Uppitu ~ Of newly acquired tastes!

Your $0.02 gladly accepted here, but kindly don't be rude:

